Age 21+

A great choice of motorcycles is available for you once you have passed your test.

You may now be able to ride an unrestricted machine in licence category A. For example, if you have held a category A2 licence for 2 years, you can just take a practical Module 1 and Module 2 test to upgrade your licence to enable you to ride in category A.

You will need to take this test on a larger bike than you’ve been riding, and you will need some lessons as a refresher, but an unrestricted motorcycle is now a possibility for you. Otherwise, if you are 21 + you will need to do the following before you can be granted your category A2 licence:

You must first get a provisional licence and complete CBT – Compulsory Basic Training course. The Compulsory Basic Training course only enables riders to use public roads whilst displaying L plates on their bikes, maximum 125cc.

You can go on to pass the practical motorcycle tests once you’ve had more lessons on larger machines and then throw away the L plates.

There are two practical tests.

Module 1 (Machine handling skills)

Module 2 (Practical on road skills).

The standard you are expected to ride at is at a similar level to the national driving test.

You will need to pass the Theory test before you take your Module 1 test but you can start your practical lessons before you take the theory test.

Have a look here for details of the power of the machine you are allowed to ride:

Flow chart for licence categories and ages

“Motorcycling uses perishable skills so we strongly advise further training with us after you have passed your tests. The Enhanced Rider Scheme is a good place to start and comes with a certificate from the DVSA to prove your higher level of competence.” Paul, Director and Coach, Gordano Motorcycle Training.